Kickin’ Barbecue Hummus

Hello my lovelies! It was so much fun sharing my blast from the past with you guys yesterday! Sounds like I wasn’t the only teenage girl drooling over Zack Morris! ๐Ÿ˜‰

Update on the 30 Day Shred: Today I kicked it up to Level 2 and Jillian beat me into submission…and I LOVED it! Hmm, masochistic much? ๐Ÿ˜‰

Just do me a favor and somebody puhlease tell me how that woman talks during the cardio sections?! She’s a beast!

So you know how I said I was going to cook up some chickpeas the other day?

Yep, that would in fact be chickpea skins.

And that would be a bunch of naked chicks chickpeas!

And this would be the bbq sauce that I bought from TJ’s that totally kicks my butt!
“Just the right amount of kick”?
I am such a wimp!

Obviously, I had a bit of time on my hands yesterday…

“Hummecue” aka Barbecue Hummus:

  • 1 cup cooked chickpeas
  • 1/2 cup barbecue sauce
  • 1/3 cup finely diced onion, sautรฉed in a little oil until transparent
  • 1/2 teaspoon cumin
  • 1/4 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon chili powder

Combine all ingredients in a food processor and blend until smooth. I used my Magic Bullet since I (stupidly) packed my FP, but I don’t recommend it…it took FOREVAH!

You could just simply process the chickpeas with the bbq sauce, but I always have to make things a bit more difficult interesting! Plus, I wanted something to tone down that “kick”! ๐Ÿ˜‰

A delicious snack with some garlicky Triscuits!

I’m thinking this would be bomb diggity stuffed in a chicken breast!

Or a pizza base with red onions, bell peppers, and cheese!

Ohhh, or in a tortilla topped with some creamy coleslaw!

Crap, now I’m hungry!

And with that, I am off to go find me some late night munchies…too bad I don’t have any coleslaw! Grr!

Stay tuned tomorrow for some house pics after my meeting with the realtor! Eeeeeeee! ย  I can’t wait!

What’s your favorite bbq sauce? Got any homemade recipes? Feel free to drop a link!

 

This entry was posted in Appetizers/Side Dishes, Snacks and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

43 Responses to Kickin’ Barbecue Hummus

  1. Jenny says:

    Interesting combination of hummus and barbeque. Lately I’ve been eating the bbq sauce from Walden Farms since it’s 0 calories but it’s not so great =/ I think the Kraft Light is better ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Mrs. Fish says:

    Hangman hummus. Love it. ๐Ÿ™‚
    As far as bbq sauces go, I’m pretty easy to please. We have a local restaurant that has a sweet sauce that I LOVE. I also like them spicy, but not too tomato tasting.
    Okay, so I’m not so easy to please.
    If only I liked tomatoes. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Wow that sounds good!! I haven’t had bbq sauce in forever because none of the store near me have a good brand (first ingredient in most is high fructose corn syrup) I can’t wait to be home to give this a try! Also can’t wait to see house pics, good luck at your meeting!

  4. Ok i’m skipping the YUMMUS step and going straight for roasted and bbq-ed chickpeas next time I’m in the kitchen. yup. it’s happening =)

  5. Kelsey @ Unmitigated Grub says:

    yum! I’m not the biggest bbq sauce fan (crazy I know) but that looks so good! and glad to see someone else sheds the chickpea skins, too. ๐Ÿ™‚ Did you think it was worth the effort?

    • I actually only did it because I had just read your post! I don’t know…it did make a difference. It was a whole lot smoother without the grittiness that my homemade hummus sometimes had. Still not as creamy as store bought, but then again, I didn’t use any tahini…that would probably help.

  6. I’m kind of obsessed with barbecue stuff right now. I want to make barbecue kale chips. Haha. This hummus looks awesome!

  7. Namaste Gurl says:

    Looks seriously naughty and delicious. Way to go on the creativity and beautiful photos, my friend ๐Ÿ™‚ I actually have the bbq sauce dusting away in my pantry. Maybe i’ll give it some air and make your hummus, hehe.

  8. Ma Ma Megan says:

    I love barbecue sauce, I love hummus.
    This is already a winner in my book!

    P.s love the hangman dude ๐Ÿ˜‰

  9. YEE – HAW!! I call this humbecue! ๐Ÿ˜‰ so SO yum. I wanna come over and play hangman!

  10. I am gearing up for Level 2 of the Shred on the 1st. I am such a baby- I think parts of Level 1 are really hard! I’m going to die during Level 2, aren’t I?!

    • I agree! I am such a pansy when it comes to push ups and the anterior raises in level 1 totally kill! Level 2 is def more intense and got my heart PUMPING, but don’t worry…if I can do it…you can do it! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  11. lindsay says:

    oh hang man, I love that game. Looks even better with BBQ sauce and hummus. YUM!
    Can’t wait for house pics!

  12. …I think I just fell in love with you. I go through these phases where I am just insanely obsessed with BBQ sauce and NEED it…so I can’t wait for one of those cravings to strike so I can make this :] I’ve found this amazingly wonderful BBQ sauce that a local farmstand sells that is made by some guy locally. It’s more sweet than smokey, but just what I like. While I love making things from scratch; that’s just something I don’t feel I can beat ๐Ÿ˜›

  13. Kristina says:

    SERIOUSLY!!!! I wanted to make hummus yest, then I realized I didn’t have chicpeas-i’ve been putting bbq sauce on my salads-now this would be the best of both worlds!!!!

  14. So glad level 2 kicked some tooshy for ya! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Also, that hangman in bbq sauce is hilarious! Love it!

  15. Nice dip idea! I love BBQ on chickpeas, so really you can’t go wrong with BBQ hummus! YUM!

  16. Sarah says:

    mmm, looks so tasty! can you make hummus with a magic bullet?!? i’ve been scared to try because the manual says not to run the motor for more than a minute per use….i always imagined it’d take longer than that to make hummus!

    • I’ve made hummus in mine without any problems, but I did have to scrape down the sides and stir it up a bit before it really got creamy. And it really only works with small batches. I’ve also made coconut butter in my magic bullet before. I kinda push that little thing to its max I guess! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  17. Yummmm! Omg bbq and hummus together sounds awesome. I’ve really been wanting to make my own bbq sauce so maybe I’ll do that first ๐Ÿ˜€

    • I need to get back to experimenting with my own sauce. I’ve tried a few times before, but it always ends up tasting like ketchup no matter how many other ingredients I add! ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  18. Hummus and BBQ sauce are SO good together! I can’t remember where I first saw it, I think on Eating Bender a couple years ago. I have peeled the skins off my garbanzos before–it is tedious but makes for creamy, dreamy hummus!!! Love the hangman ๐Ÿ˜‰

  19. Amy says:

    Oooh, can’t wait to see the house pics!

  20. Mandiee says:

    Skinning all those chickpeas is a true testament of a hummus lover. I love the hummus art, too!

    Have a lovely day!
    xox

  21. ahh i bet that is SO SO GOOD! i usually put liquid smoke in my batch of hummus.. HEAVENLY!!

  22. Priyanka says:

    This naked chick..oops…chickpeas hummus with bbq sauce is quite the stellar combination. Love it!

  23. cbrady3 says:

    I found my favorite BBQ sauce at HomeGoods! I wish I knew the name, but all I know is I was having trouble finding one without HFCS and I found it there!

    • Oh, I love/hate finding amazing things like that at those kind of stores…you never know if you’ll be able to find it again! I found my Tera’s Whey at TJ Maxx and ended up buying all 3 flavors they had for fear it wouldn’t be there after I tried the first one! Haha!

  24. Kayla says:

    Ahahaha, love the hang man, you are so cute!!

    I am not a big condiments person, so I don’t eat much bbq sauce. Plus, my family buys the kind filled with crazy ingredients, soooo…meh.

  25. Sarah says:

    oh man this sounds like it would be great on a veggie burger!

  26. Meagan says:

    I am OBSESSED with all of your hummus recipes! This is on my list to make, SOON! ๐Ÿ™‚

    I like Annie’s Organic Maple BBQ Sauce, so good!

    • I hear a lot about Annie’s Organic sauces and dressings, but I’ve never tried any of them. I will def be picking up some bbq sauce next time I’m at the store! Thanks for the tip!

  27. Pingback: New House Pics & a Saaaweet Salad! | kissmybroccoli

  28. Girl, this looks fantastic!!! ๐Ÿ˜€

Leave a Reply

