Seasonal Denial

This morning I woke up bright and early and knew there was only one thing I wanted…HEAB’s Sweet Potato Pie! Yes, that’s right folks, Heather’s having pie for breakfast!

The recipe starts with Emily’s brancake recipe as a pie crust which is basically just prepared oat bran nuked in the microwave to resemble a “cake.” Gene-yus! ย Well, being as my microwave decided to die an abrupt death during Thanksgiving dinner, I knew I’d have to figure something out.

Cinnamon Raisin “Brancake”:
1/2 cup oat bran
1 cup of water
1 Tbsp PB&Co. Cinnamon Swirl
1/2 tsp vanilla
cinnamon

I mixed all the ingredients on the stove and cooked them on medium-high heat for a few minutes until it got good and thick. This is where you would normally transfer to the microwave but I thought, “I could probably just cook it in a skillet like a big pancake!”

WRONG!!

That's what I get for "thinking" ๐Ÿ˜‰

Oh well! Sometimes good food just isn’t pretty! I was NOT about to quit! I wanted PIE!! And I got it…

Pretty good tasting "fail"

"Song, song of the South...sweet potato pie and I shut my mouth!"

I simply topped my “brancake” fail with a baked mashed sweet potato, cinnamon spiked Greek yogurt, and raisins! It may look like I just piled stuff on my plate but let me tell you it was Delish with a capital D! Thanks HEAB for the great breakfast idea!

For dinner tonight, Mama Pea got me thinking about some warm soup action!

ย 

Simple ingredient list

Creamy Bacon Broccoli Soup:ย (makes 2 servings)
2 cups broccoli florets
1/4 large onion, diced
1 small garlic clove, minced
1 cup stock (I used homemade turkey stock from Thanksgiving leftovers)
1/2 cup milk
1/4 cup sour cream
1 heaping Tbsp flour

Heat broccoli, onion, and garlic in 1 Tbsp olive oil over medium heat until tender. Mix stock, milk, sour cream, and flour in a bowl and then add to veggies. Continue to cook until thickened, about 10 minutes (you may have to use a bit more flour). Season with S&P and top with chopped bacon pieces!

Can you tell...

that I am...

getting to know...

my new camera??

ย 

The addition of the bacon is key! It compliments the creaminess of the soup so well!

While taking a million and one pics with my new camera, I noshed on a slice of sourdough bread topped with Trader Joe’s Chipotle Hummus (very good stuff if you haven’t tried it!)

Have you noticed the autumn-hued them I’ve had going today? Forgive me, but as soon as I heard the word snow yesterday, I had a little bit of a psychological regression! I was loving the fall weather we were having up until a couple of weeks ago. I really do hate the cold! Christmas I love, but I definitely can do without snow!

What are your feelings about cold weather? Are you a snow bunny or a bah hum-bugger like me?

This entry was posted in Breakfast, Lunch/Dinner and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Seasonal Denial

  1. Although I do enjoy cold weather for the holidays, by January 1, I’m ready for 90 degree days and tank tops.

    I love all your dishes, especially your pie plate. So fun, and personally, I think your “failed” pie looks delicious!

    P.S. The addition of bacon is ALWAYS key. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. Haha, that pie looks pretty delicious to me! Thanks for making the brancake and posting about it! I love the cinnamon raisin idea. That’s neat to know you can cook it on the stovetop too. I tried it in the oven the other day since a reader didn’t have a microwave and it did not turn out too great (mushy inside). I love how you said the greek yogurt was “spiked” with cinnamon, that makes it sound all the more exciting. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • No, thank you for creating it! I’ll have to try it again once I get a new microwave! The cinnamon raisin addition was awesome, but I do want to try your pumpkin version with the icing! And I definitely think cinnamon”spiked” yogurt sounds so much better than “yogurt with cinnamon”! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. Oh, and I am with you on the cold weather – I’m ready for spring. It could be cold maybe from 12/20-12/31, I’d be okay with that.

  4. Hell yeah bacon!! ๐Ÿ™‚

    PS. You are one of two winners in my PB&Co contest! I’ll be blogging about it shortly! ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

